More and more people are working from rather than at the workplace. Some people say this will bring benefits to the workers and their families, but others think it will bring stress to the home. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, there is a growing trend of people working from home(WFH). Many prefer not to go to their boring offices to handle their tasks. Without a doubt, WFH is extremely beneficial to employees and their families. However, it is also a double-edged sword, which can have its downsides for the worker and his family. Analysing the fact that WFH aids in a balanced lifestyle but causes potential illness and stress in workers and their families will prove the point. On the one hand, WFH allows for an emphasis on work-life balance with high flexibility. For instance, removing the rigid structures in the office will enhance workers’ performance. Furthermore, the complete reduction of traveling on the road means more time for families, self-care, and personal pursuits. Also, the time could be used for tackling any additional work. This flexibility can even boost productivity as employees avoid distractions and maximise efficiency with fewer things to worry about. Hence, it is believed that WFH will bring benefits to the worker and their families. On the other hand, people argue that WFH hinders their health and may stress children in their homes. For example, WFH causes a blurred boundary between working hours and personal life. Many times, working hours may creep into the evenings and weekends. This may result in employees staying up late to work after-hours which is not beneficial to their health. Adding on to that, children at home constantly seeing their working parents may be stressed out, and noise disruption will hinder their health. Therefore, people believe that WFH will bring stress to the employees and their families. In conclusion, I personally believe that WFH holds immense potential in allowing the family to bond deeper. Its benefits for childcare, family connection, and well-being are significant. Nonetheless, there are still downsides to WFH, and people should try to find the way that suits them best.