Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be a compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

On account of the fact that the world has become a global village, the importance of the ability to communicate globally has considerably increased. Accordingly, some people may say that English should be taught at school as a mandatory curriculum for its benefits, while others may argue that there are more important things to learn before English for children. This essay will discuss both sides of the arguments in depth. It sounds plausible to consider leaving English as an optional subject for children. The reason being is that children must learn about their own language and other important subjects such as maths, arts, science and history. Even if it is undeniable that knowing English has significant benefits for a future career in the international society, prioritising is essential when it comes to children education. If English become a compulsory subject, this could mean there are less time and a chance to explore other essential studies. However, considering how beneficial English is in modern society, being able to comprehend and speak English could deliver substantial advantages to children. To be more specific, a number of information and contents are written or spoken in English. Therefore, being comfortable with English assists children to approach a broad range of knowledge. As well as it will enable children to interact with people in other countries, which will lead them to the bigger world. In conclusion, although it is understandable to think English does not have to be mandatory for a children education due to the reason that other essential subjects have to be taught first. Nevertheless, knowing English has immense benefits for a life in the global village as it allows people to access countless information and people in the international world.