Many players advertise sports products. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages

In the consumerists,society it is often seen that popular athletes endorse sports commodities. This certainly has benefits for the players as well as marketing companies apart from consumers. This essay shall discuss further points which state that advertising goods by celebrities have more pros than cons. To begin with, the promotion of sports brands by players has a benefit to the manufacturing firms as there will be a surge in sales when renowned sportsmen promote the items as they have many followers.In this digitized world youngsters often follow their favourite celebrities and mimic them as they are attracted to their lavish and glamorous lifestyle. Hence,they will use the essentials endorsed by celebs. For example, Nike sale has increased since it is been advertised by world-famous footballer Cristiano Ronaldo. Therefore, by such advertisements, players and companies are benefited. Furthermore, even a common man will come to know about new brands in the market and since they trust their favourite sportsman they will purchase their advertised things. Nevertheless,there are certain drawbacks if athletes are dragged into the marketing field.If they promote low-quality products or give false information by falling in hands of the gimmicks of companies,their career may be at risk. For instance, Bangladeshi cricketer,Shakib was given a ban for six months for promoting cigarette brands on the field. Moreover, they may be distracted from sports and focus on marketing which can ruin their career.Henceforth, celebrities should behave responsibly while advertising and analyze the items beforehand. In conclusion, there are disadvantages of advertising by athletes like criticism and even professional loss if cheap articles are promoted. However, it will be beneficial as there will be publicity of the brand and extra revenue for the player apart from the introduction of various new things to the consumers.