Parents often give children what they ask and do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

There is a tendency that parents overindulge their offspring by meeting their every demand. In my view, this way of fostering children has disadvantages outweighing the advantages and results in detrimental influences on children in the foreseen future. It is evident that parents’ overindulgence is harmful to children. First and foremost, these children are inclined to lack a sense of self-discipline. Due to complying with children ’s requirements regardless of whether they are reasonable or not, parents would enable children to believe that rules are not imposed on them. This also means, they are not likely to know to distinguish right from wrong. Secondly, pampering children might encourage them to have a superiority complex. This is because offspring’s receiving what they wish so easily and frequently that they think it is completely obvious for them to do so. As a result, these children would develop a wrong mindset, such as: everyone has the duty to serve them. There are certain note-worthy detrimental impacts of this child-fostering way when they become adults. The first one is that these children would be hampered from achieving success in their future life. The habit of taking everything for granted formed at an early age would make them not appreciate the value of hard work. This leads to their unwillingness to make progress on their own in the hope of a fulfilling life. The second one is that the inability to live independently can cause difficulties in adapting to challenging environments. Having been given such special care in the past, they would become oblivious to manage to perform tasks by themselves. In other words, they tend to lack vital sets of skills and they; therefore, are vulnerable when it comes to obstacles in life. In conclusion, I hold a belief that the tendency of parents satisfying whatever their children ’s needs has adverse influences on children ’s mental and behavioral development and this brings a variety of long-term consequences to children.