Write about the following topic: Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that authorities ought to plough more funds on railways instead of on roads. Development in the communication networks is an essential factor leading to economic growth, however, I believe resources have to be earmarked according to the needs of a country and not more on railways than on roadways. Installing a network of rail systems is vital for the transportation of products from point of manufacturing to its consumers. This affords the transfer of a large number of materials to its destination with greater speed and economy. As trains have more capacity to carry luggage at one time, makes it more convenient for the traders to book their orders. However, it cannot be developed in all parts of a country given the differences in geographical features, making it almost impossible for rail. For example, in India, most of the hilly train does not have a railway network due to its rugged terrain. On the other hand, roads play an important role in the transportation of produces from every corner of the manufacturing facility. Developing roads allows small and medium-sized producers to ship their finished products to their consumers who are living in small towns without any rail network, making it more trustworthy for them. Such as, when the products are loaded from a small town the endpoint can also be reached on the same vehicle, resulting in the lesser transfer between rail and trucks. In conclusion, spending money on developing all forms of roads and train tracks is the need of the hour and I do not agree with sparing greater funds for railways than for roads.