Even though doctors advise old people to get more exercise, many old people do not get enough. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions for this?

Many elderly people today neglect recommendations from doctors and spend minimal effort doing exercise. In my opinion, this notion stems from their past upbringing and the best reforms concern augmenting existing remedies. The most frequently cited rationale for the logic of inadequate exercise is uncommon sporting activities in the past. To explain this, the majority of old people were growing up in a period when exercise was not ubiquitous. One of the salient illustrations of this is often viewed in the lack of gyms and sports equipment in schools available for our former generation 30 years ago. Private gyms and training rooms equipped at school are our recent development which has educated the general populace to be self-aware of their health. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why our grandparents do not have the habit of exercise these days as they were not told the benefits instilled. Albeit conceding the catalyst for this issue, I would contend that improvements in current facilities could better accommodate the elderly. We are all aware that older people might not be suitable to do harsh exercise like heavy-lifting or even playing competitive sports, therefore, city planners can build more parks allowing for strolling or running. This can be apparently seen in myriad nations in Southeast Asia and the Middle East, where a wide breadth of parks and public gardens are available with basic exercise equipment for people in all age brackets. Not only does this development allow the old to engage in light exercise, but also to spend time with their grandchildren in the parks. Another related fix would be to build more gym complexes, which might not have immediate effects but will be familiar to a new generation of old people. In conclusion, lacking equipment and information about health merits from exercise remain the key cause whilst the best solutions involve providing more facilities. In my final thought, educators and urban planners should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between educating the citizenry and upgrading run-out-of-mill facilities.