Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the key to the development of economies and businesses is tourism. It is often argued that tourism can lead to problems with local traditions and nature. I totally agree with this statement since the visitors can damage the natural life and local behaviour. On the one hand, there are two effects on the environment that are caused by the visitors. Firstly, the local plants in the nature parks can die. A lot of travellers prefer to go to nature parks for watching the unseen scenery and rare plants. Some people usually pick the flowers or plants before being allowed by the guide or sometimes they are not careful about whether their feet can press on the small floras. This is why many natural parks often close for several months to recover the environment. Another effect, the popular places such as Phuket beach where the tourists always purchase lots of foods and beverages. Although many times they finish eating them, they do not put the garbage in a bin. If the wind carries the rubbish to the sea, it can affect marine life and make contaminated water. On the other hand, there is also an effect on the local behaviour and traditional style. The behaviour of local people can be changed by the foreigners because they love to party at night and hang out with their friends. This is the reason why the local people follow their trend. For instance, In Pattaya has the most tourists in Thailand. This city needs to be open until the morning because of travellers. Moreover, even if it has many people, the local people have to rebuild their old traditional building to a modern building which can attract people. In conclusion, I completely agree that tourists can damage our environment by not being careful of nature and not being conscious of the problems of garbage. Also, it can transfer people's behaviour and their old style.