Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Young people in some countries, such as America, need to work hard for years to pay back their student loans. Thus, there is a growing number of people arguing that university education should be accessible for everyone regardless of their financial background. Some supporters believe that making higher education free is beneficial for the economy. In this era of modernization, there is a rising demand for highly qualified workers. For example, science computer graduates are welcomed with lucrative salaries everywhere. Having more people go to college means having a larger workforce with higher income to boosts our economy. However, it is essential to remember that there are many different approaches to that same outcome. For example, people interested in Data Science can apply for a boot camp to learn how to code. After several months, they can write the same code as ones spent four years in college. Similarly, we have platforms like Coursera or Udemy, when people can conveniently study the specific course that suits their needs at any time. Moreover, unlike high school education, a university needs a tremendous amount of money and experts to establish and maintain. The number of PhD holders eligible to teach at the college level is limited. Besides teaching, they also need to conduct experiments to explore the unknown areas of their fields. These experiments are often costly and time-consuming. Hence, there is no way to make college education free without sacrificing quality scientific findings and teachings. In conclusion, I firmly believe that there is no need to make college education free as there are a lack of funds and experts to establish more colleges, and the already existence of many affordable forms of higher education.