Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The use of imprisonment is a common form of punishment followed by the law. But a majority of people hold the opinion that alternative ways such as education and training skills can be a major factor in crime reduction. I partially agree that prison sentence is not the only solution to criminal activities as educating the prisoners can help them too. Some people think that imprisonment of criminals is mandatory for the reformation of the person and society as a whole. Giving prison sentences to criminals could do wonders for the battle against crime. Firstly, this method would act as a deterrent since it may discourage people from breaking the law. Knowing they would serve a prison sentence, those who have the idea of committing a crime would think carefully and realize that it would not be worth the risk. Furthermore, incarceration may help rehabilitate offenders. This is because they have more time to think about what they have done and feel remorse for their wrong behaviour. Therefore, after being released, they would be afraid of engaging in or reoffending activities which could lead to criminality. without the possibility of, a punishment many individuals would break the law. On the other hand, others argue that there are more effective ways to reduce the crime rate. The first is for authorities to hold more workshops and courses in order to raise people’s awareness so that each individual differentiate between right and wrong and. If the government start educating or giving skilful training to them, it may improve their employment opportunities which would result in crime reduction. Ensuring that ex-prisoners will give a decent job when they are free could be a great relapse prevention plan. Another step is for the government to install more surveillance cameras and have more police officers patrolling the streets. This clearly could prevent petty crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocket, since they are less likely to operate when being watched. To sum up, although the traditional punishment of imprisonment could contribute to preventing crimes, it is not be considered the only way to deal with criminals. There are other effective measures that need to be taken simultaneously