There are many benefits to a good education. Therefore, a university education should be offered to all students, not just students with good high school grades. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that tertiary education should be free for all students because it nutures their future opportunities, in terms of job searching, qualifications, and so on. Although it sounds perfect, I disagree with the statement because of some downsides. I will explain the reasons in the following paragraph. To begin with, the funds invested in free tertiary education could be used for other imminent issues in society. To be specific, there are many problems such as diseases and poverty that we have to solve immediately. Therefore, in order to alleviate the issues, the government needs sufficient money to deal with the problems constantly and provide subsidises to the people, which play important roles in bettering the situation. Thus, allocating funds to free education is regarded as wasting resources. Moreover, when university education becomes free, it will bring out unsatisfactory achievements in learning. In detail, there are some students who are not willing to study further or not interested in the major they study, however, they just keep it up because it is free. For example, a student who gets to university for free with poor grades would be likely to be absent school and get bad results. Therefore, this mindset will cause irresponsibility in their learning so that their level of performance will be decreased. In this respect, making tertiary education free for everyone is not an efficient investment in society. In conclusion, it is undeniable that university education provides numerous opportunities for students, however, making it free for all students will bring out downsides in society.