Young drivers are careless and overconfident, and too many are killed in accidents. To eliminate this problem, we could teach children the skills of safe driving while they are at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Because of overconfidence and careless driving, a lot of young drivers die in car accidents, so according to some, teaching skills of how to drive safely to school children could properly address this concern. I completely disagree that adopting this approach would reduce the number of young drivers being killed in accidents. A good reason why being at school ages, children should not be taught about skills of safe driving is their strict timetable. In other words, a lot of basic school subjects, such as the mathematics and the literature are included in a school corriculum, and children should spend enough time to learn them effectively. Consequently, any irrelevant subjects such as how to have a safe driving could be a distraction for children ’s main focus and, thus, affect their educational performance. Another point to consider is that there is a time gap between when children go to school and the time they get their driving license. This gap would be different for various children, from graduating to being trained for driving. Over this time period, they could forget whatever they learnt about a safe drive, and all those lessons should be repeated again for them. For instance, a young adult might postpone getting their driving certificate until when they enroll at a university. Finally, a school child’s mind is not prepared to receive some types of information like lessons on safe driving. To perceive their environment and acquire more advanced knowledge, children firstly should be educated about most basic subjects at their schools. It means that in order to understand driving safely, children ’s minds are required to learn about concepts like the safety and its definition in their lives beforehand. In conclusion, to deal with the problem of careless young drivers who get themselves being killed in accidents, due to several certain reasons, other solutions rather than teaching school children should be considered.