It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching T.V. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a thought that the feeling of enjoyment from reading is better for creativity and vocabulary than watching TV. This essay strongly agrees with this suggestion because interpreting the plot and story is usually required to read a book. Also, the book contains detailed language that can be valuable in broadening vocabulary. Because of the visuals and sound in movies or TV shows, viewers' personal interpretations can be limited. Meanwhile, with books, the plot of the story is only supported by words. Consequently, everyone can make their own imagination with the plot and the story to their liking while reading a book. For example, when people read the "Lord of the Rings", their experiences of reading scenes involving strange creatures and weird places can be different from each other because they have their own thoughts about how the story may look and sound. Furthermore, without visuals and music, the writer will put extra words and vocabulary in books. This is needed to help them describe situations and set the tone of the book to make the story alive. Hence, books are much more detailed than films. Usually, a film lasts approximately two hours, while in a book, there can be hundreds (maybe thousands) of pages of description. For example, the series called "Game of Thrones" was criticized for its lack of depth in certain characters compared to the books. In conclusion, reading is a better tool for everyone to help them improve their creativity skills and further expand their wording ability.