Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that owning a smartphone has played a significant role in people's leisure time. Generally, I believe that there are numerous factors that contribute to this tendency, and that it has some negative consequences on people. Without cellphones, the world would suffer greatly from issues ranging from communication to entertainment to meeting basic requirements. For starters, we use these devices to stay in touch with folks who live far away from us. For this reason, owning a smartphone has simplified communication, allowing us to share our lives with those we care about and connect with individuals all over the world. Second, because of technological advancements, smartphones have become more accessible to individuals of all ages and can meet users' basic demands for relaxation. People can, for example, simply watch a favourite film or keep up with the latest news in their spare time by using their smartphone to access endless resources on the Internet. Finally, the rise of Grab and Uber has made an increasing number of individuals reliant on them, from the convenience of not having to drive to restaurants, to persons with impairments or those who couldn't find the goods they wanted at a nearby mall but had to order it from afar. To be more exact, not all restaurants, malls, and markets are evenly distributed, which might cause some inconvenient situations. This development, on the other hand, has negative consequences. In terms of society, individuals prefer to communicate with one another via sending text messages on their smartphones. As a result, inhabitants have fewer opportunities to interact with their neighbours, including family members. Additionally, eye-related disorders are caused by staring at a screen for lengthy periods of time. Furthermore, persons who live a sedentary lifestyle are more likely to become obese. In conclusion, while the development of the internet and other technologies like smartphones are very advantageous, it does have bad effects when taking up too much of our leisure time.