Prison is the best punishment for criminals do You agree or disagree ?

Imprisonment time is considered to be the most effective punishment for criminals. I highly disagree with this belief, prisons are difficult contexts and do not always serve the purpose to rehabilitate people, instead other punishment methods should be considered. Prisons are difficult contexts, where people tend to become more violent by trying to survive. It is very common to hear stories about prisoners, whose crimes were minor, coming out to commit more serious offences. living in a context surrounded by criminals and fighting for life is not the best ambience to rehabilitate, instead, it can worsen people's crime psychology. Recent studies have demonstrated that an important percentage of ex presidiaries come back to prison an overage of 3 times. Although time in prison is the most common way of punishment and the only avenue for the ones who pose a threat to society, other methods should be utilized in those cases whose crimes are not likely to happen again or that are more due to silly reasons than a deliberated attempt to cause damage. for example, community service is proven to be a very effective way to punish minor offenders and rehabilitate them. Studies have shown that most of the people who had to do uncomfortable community service or pay high fines do not tend to visit the police station that often. To conclude, it is undeniable that jail is in many cases the only way to keep society safe, but it is not the best place to make people abandon their criminal activities, Instead, it can worsen it.