With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will soon become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, the means of communication has changed drastically. Some argue that an increasing number of people have adopted to communicate via the internet, SMS, video calls and other digital communication systems, make a point that classical communication will soon die out. I partially agree with this argument, though, technology is considered a bane to society, yet, the traditional way to communicate is far from being archaic. To start with, we are digitally connected through video calls, text messages and emails. Each of it is pervading in every household, office and school as we can work comfortably from our home. For instance, with meetings held in different locations of offices, video conferences play a crucial role to bridge the gap that accounts for large distances across the oceans. In addition, due to unfortunate circumstances like COVID-19, a lot of students, employees, and almost all the residents of the nation finally resorted to online meetings. Several schemes by the government were initiated in India to promote online teaching. As a result, people started feeling comfortable at home and at the same time continue to work. However, with all the added advantages, face to face communication is still the most effective way as it is a more human way to deal with, also electronic gadgets require electricity to run, and if such cases are not taken into consideration properly, it is not as effective as it is portrayed. For example, with physical and in-person talks, there is a chance to observe the body language and behaviours while talking. online face to face conferences and calls also provide this, however maybe due to issues such as power cuts, slow internet and faulty gadgets could hamper communication. Moreover, hackers can pose and pretend themselves as someone else and could potentially target folk while communicating in online mode, while physically communicating, this will not be the case. In conclusion, albeit the internet, has provided us with a myriad of options and channels to communicate, there are some potential issues in digital communication which needs to be addressed before we even consider wiping out the need for physical conversation. Therefore, technology can not completely replace in-person communication systems.