Some people think that all law breakers should be put into prison while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there has been an argument about whether all types of criminals should be sent to prison or not. Some people think it is the best solution whereas others believe that there are many ways to solve this problem. In my opinion, I definitely agree with the latter one. On the one hand, there is an array of reasons why all criminals have to serve prison sentences when they break the law. First of all, imprisoning all types of offenders can help reduce the crime rate in society. This strict punishment can act as a deterrent because it might eliminate individuals’ thought of offending, which, eventually, can contribute to the decrease in the number of people committing crimes. Second of all, the security of society would be improved if offenders had to receive prison sentences. For instance, some types of minor culprits such as robbers, thieves are the leading causes for the sense of insecurity among residents; Therefore, the aforementioned law allows citizens to have a safe life. On the other hand, there are still alternative solutions to tackle these offenders instead of having to put them into jail. In the first place, those who violate minor faults should be greatly fined and be under probation orders. Consequently, this would reduce the likelihood of reoffending and help them reintegrate into society to make a fresh start. In the second place, for serious criminals such as kidnapping, drug trafficking or even murder, a policy of zero tolerance should be implemented. For instance, long prison sentence or more seriously, the death penalty will deter them from returning a path of crime and make culprits regret about what they have done to their innocent victims. In conclusion, although imprisonment is an effective method to deal with issues of crime, I still believe appropriate alternatives for various kinds of criminals can play an active role in guaranteeing the security of our community.