There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, academic subjects at school require a lot of hard work for children at school. Some people claim, that subjects, which do not give people academic knowledge and intelligence, should be banned from schools, because children can concentrate only on academic subjects. I completely disagree with this statement, because these kinds of subjects have an essential part in education. This essay will discuss arguments and importance of non-academic subjects. First of all, even though school frequently gives children academic knowledge, it also gives them life experiences. Additionally, skills, such as discipline, friendships and relationships have a big impact on child development. therefore, these skills will be revealed more on non-academic subjects. For instance, doing sports makes children to team up. As a result, they learn how to be more communicative with each other. Furthermore, sometimes subjects such as physical education or cookery are needed for children, especially for mental health. This means that if they studied and focused on academic subjects all the time, their brain would be exhausted. Accordingly, it needs time for relaxation and that is why physical activities at school are also important. Finally, some students may need body activities more than intelligence. For example, they may need to perform at sports more to go to a professional level or they can cook often to be a chef in the future. In conclusion, academic subjects at school have a major impact on the life of children. However, the needs of other types of subjects should be also significant, because the school also gives them life knowledge, mental health relaxation and also some students may be professional athletes or cooks some day.