Some people say it is a waste of time to plan for the future and it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people have assumed that you better think about the present rather than planning your future. However, I partly agree with this statement and will explain my opinion in the next paragraphs. The reason why I agree is that by living in present you accept all the circumstances and in many cases do not look at the world through rose-coloured glasses. No one has an idea what life will be in even a one year time. For example, based on my experience, I try not to look forward to the future as I would better catch every moment and enjoy it rather than living in thoughts about my future life. Moreover, life always can end unexpectedly so wasting time on planning is not that great idea. On the other hand, making plans for the future really helps you to achieve your goals. You write a list with steps that will lead you to your dream and then follow the notes so you do not have a mess in your head. A case in this point can be entering your dream university as you should have a clear plan of actions like gathering documents, passing exams, interviews and etc. As a consequence, the chance to succeed in admission increases and the selection committee sees potential in you. To sum up, both views are correct in various situations but focusing on the present is usually more needed than imagining a life you might never have if you do not work enough on it.