Some people focus on news in their own country, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The vast majority of people are convinced that news in their own country is most important for the nation, while others believe that it is highly important to be familiar with worldwide news. This essay will firstly discuss the main importance of local news and secondly, it will provide some arguments for the awareness of international news. One the one hand, it is highly important for society to be familiar with situations which happen in our everyday life. The first thing is that since this kind of news can keep individuals informed about changes in the politics or new laws in their own country and they would be able to timely adjust their knowledge and skills for the environment. To illustrate, when people do not have enough information about the situation in their own country it could have different outcomes such as a wrong decision on the vote for president, which is an important decision for the future. On the other hand, it is evident that society and cultures are highly connected in the modern world, so it is impossible to live without knowledge about international news and political situations. For instance, the BBC news always provides stories about international situations and relationships, and usually it has a different opinion from the local ideas. As a result, some people can be uninformed about a situation in the world. To conclude, the question about awareness of international and local news is still controversial. In my opinion it is quite important to be aware of the international situation, however, society should be also well-informed about issues in own country.