Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The government should invest in public transit systems and there should be a reduction in the prices of public transport tickets. This will help combat transportation pollution. This essay agrees with this statement because better functioning commuting means and low-cost fares will reduce traffic. The authorities of the State should greatly invest in building and developing bigger and better commuting channels in order to enable more citizens to move around quickly and easily. The higher the number of commuters in public transport systems, the lesser the number of people owning private automobiles and vehicles. Therefore, greatly reducing gridlock on the roads. For example, London city has the best transportation system and efficient inter-city links in the world and this has enabled the smooth running of the transportation network thereby leading to a reduction in traffic pollution and a noticeable reduction in the amount of dangerous emissions. In addition, low ticket prices of public transport systems will greatly encourage citizens to utilize public transport means rather than expensive fares that will discourage them from taking the buses, trams and trains and in turn reduce vehicle roadblocks. The government can implement this by granting subsidies on such prices. For instance, in Lagos Nigeria, the cost of bus rides from Ikeja City Mall to Obalende was about 5,000 Nigerian Naira in 2023 and now it has significantly dropped to 2,000 Naira. This recent development has greatly decreased movement congestion. In conclusion, pollution is a major concern in our world today and this can be overcome if the government allocates more funds to the transportation sector and the cost of public transport tickets are subsidised.