The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indeed the fact that refurbishment of old structures in prime cities involves a lot of expenditure which could be utilized for the construction of new accommodations as well as infrastructure. I partially agree with this statement and this essay will discuss the reasons for my partial agreement. On the one side, although the renovation of old buildings may be expensive, the cost of new construction is drastically higher than renovation in a real-world scenario. This is because the cost of construction material in major cities is high and unlike renovation, new construction requires all the building materials. In addition, the development of existing roads in major cities would cause inconvenience to the general public and severe traffic congestion can be experienced. Renovation on the other hand is an economical method to lengthen the life of existing infrastructure without creating hassle to the public. For instance, a city museum in Spain was renovated in just 5,00,000 euros and it will last for more than 5 decades whereas the reconstruction would have cost billions of euros. On the other side, if the amount spent on the renovation of existing old structures would be utilized for new constructions, it would certainly accommodate more people with a modern and better design. The old buildings are built on an old pattern which is incapable of accommodating more people and also requires repair in short intervals,unlike new structures. Also, if the same amount of money is utilized to develop roads, it may cause inconvenience for a short duration, however, its benefit will be availed for a long time. Conclusively, although the renovation is economical than new construction, if the money spent on renovation is utilized on reconstruction long term benefits can be availed with a better accommodation capacity in major cities