There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

Recently, there is much evidence indicates that the increasing usage of cars has caused a negative effect on people ’s health as well as contributing to global warming. In my opinion, I believe that there are two ways that can be done to discourage people from using their cars. To begin with, the governments can gradually limit cars usage by imposing taxes. This is because if people find it costly to use their cars, they will be more likely to use purchase cars when it is necessary. For instance, in Europe, the gas prices are high and there are high taxes on car prices. Therefore, a lot of people in Europe prefer to use electric public means of transport and bicycles instead of cars most of the time. As a result, Europe has one of the cleanest atmospheres that is healthy for everyone. However, this approach alone is not effective in encouraging people to use alternatives for their cars. Furthermore, governments should motivate people to use environmentally friendly means of transport. The reason for this is that there are many people who are currently dependent mainly on their personal cars. For instance, in the United States of America, the government built many electric cars charging stations and offers tax reductions for those who buy electric cars. As a result, fuel-based cars have started to decrease leading to minimize their harmful fumes. Consequently, the effects of global warming phenomena will be mitigated in long run. In conclusion, the issue caused by the increased use of cars will not be solved in a short time. Nonetheless, the government can play a pivotal role in tackling this issue by imposing taxes on car usage and give reasonable motivation for people to use environmentally friendly means of transport.