Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the course of history, gender discrimination has been always talked about and several viewpoints have been widely discussed. In the distant past, male dominance had been an incontrovertible fact, however, over the recent century, efforts have been made to reverse that inequity. One of the ways to implement this modern attitude is giving every woman an equal opportunity to that of her male colleague, like the suggestion made in the title. I generally agree with the attempts to enforce equity within the society. However I do not believe in extreme and mechanical tools to achieve pure “numerical justice”. Throughout history, men have controlled all the aspects of life, including governments, markets, workplaces amongst other influential fields. This superiority has prevented many women from being vital partners in life and eventually has precluded their academic and social careers. Therefore, revolutionary suggestions have been made in order to clean that dark spot in human history. Some feminist activists cling to the idea that women should be equal to men in all aspects of life, and encourage governments to legislate laws in order to enforce this trend. One of these ideas includes forcing universities and employers to admit equal numbers of each gender. On the other hand, there is another aspect which merits further consideration. There is no doubt that women are equal to men in every aspect of mental and physical abilities. However, forcing draconian equal distribution in universities and workplaces might fail to achieve the desired outcome. In given case; such a strict requirement can sometimes prevent a female student to be enlisted to specific subject, only because that 50 percent of the vacancies have been already occupied by females. In conclusion, I truly am of the opinion that it is the duty of universities to guarantee equal chances for all the candidates regardless of their gender. Historically, if universities had dictated places for candidates according to their pure skills, there would have been more female workers, teachers, doctors, politicians amongst other vital positions within society.