Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people, who lost their jobs because of it.

E-commerce has become one of the largest sources for people to trade goods. Getting your desired item delivered to you at your doorsteps, doesn’t it sound amazing? However, this increasing popularity does come with its demerits too. This essay will focus on its advantages and disadvantages and the impact it has had on the environment and on jobs. Online shopping helps one to buy the exact stuff they want with a tap of a finger. Moreover, people also get large discounts and can get things sold in different parts of the world delivered to them. However, as these items are transported from distant places they needed to be sent cautiously. The e-commerce companies, therefore, use various kinds of protective layers made of paper and plastic, for example bubble wraps, cardboard boxes etc. The plastic pollutes the environment as it doesn’t decompose for years and the carboard is obtained by cutting trees which causes deforestation. As a result, it degrades the environmental condition of the planet. These online marketing companies have also taken large number of jobs. These companies depend on deep discounting and give more discounts than the local retailer. As a consequence, retail shops and malls lose a lot of customers and therefore are forced to cut down their workforce. They do also generate jobs but these are a lot less than those lost. Therefore, they also increase unemployment among the people. I believe that these companies won’t survive in the long run if they continue to function like this. The method of deep discounting is not a sustainable practice and sooner or later different governments across the globe will apply strict laws for environment conservation. This can be seen as many new e-commerce companies lose customers as soon as they stop deep discounting. In conclusion, although they have their own advantages, some methods need to be changed to survive for a long period of time.