The most important consideration when choosing any career or job is having a high income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that for high salary is the most important consideration for many people when choosing any field of work. In my view, while a high salary is indeed crucial, I believe that it should not be the only consideration because there are other important factors, as well. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the main reason for prioritizing high income is to cover increasing living costs. This is because people want a reasonable motivation to be able to go through the hardships of working such as travelling to a remote areas or spending longer times working. For example, in my country, there are many people who work abroad because of the high salaries they receive. As a result, they are indeed enjoying a sense of reward despite the fact that they spend a lot of time alone in a foreign country. Having said that, I would argue that high a salary should not be the top priority for those who have families. To illustrate this, while it is vital for everyone to secure their children’s needs, it is more important to spend more time with them rather than spend countless hours working. What is more, there are some people who keep thinking about the next pay rise or the salaries of different companies. As a consequence, those people become preoccupied and anxious and this might cause a negative effect on their mental health because they might develop depression and become unable to support their families. In conclusion, earning a lot of money is essential nowadays to secure life needs. Nonetheless, it is my opinion that it should not be the primary reason when choosing a career because living for a purpose such as supporting a family is more significant than just thinking about gaining more money.