In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?

In modern society, the proliferation of technology has far-reaching effects on all aspects of our daily lives, including methods of reading. It is often said that the conventional newspaper or the printed publications are on the wand and considered no longer necessary as people can read everything through the Internet without any fees. Personally, I firmly disagree with this statement and I believe that the traditional publications will not be replaced. It is undeniable that e-papers bring countless advantages for people. However, it is totally wrong to say that the community can have all the information that they need at their disposal without paying. That could be explained by the fact that some Internet-based materials force people to pay an amount of money to experience vivid images or lively videos. For example, a number of famous e-newspaper such as The Economists or New Scientists offer subscription plans for full access to premium features while non-subscribers are limited to only a small number of articles. Hence, despite their convenience, readers still have to spend an amount of money to read some digital newspapers. By contrast, conventional paper plays a significant role on our daily basis. It has been existing for a long time, sticking to the majority of ordinary people, especially the old who struggle with electronic devices. Furthermore, a number of residents are passionate about collecting printed books so they are pleased and willing to buy traditional publications to build their collection. According to the recent survey conducted in 2019 by Cambridge University, 85% of the population in America prefer buying books to read rather than reading via the Internet. In conclusion, although the Internet and social media networking facilitate for people to experience, I still believe that newspapers and books are an indispensable part of the daily lives of most citizens. I do not also deny the benefits of digital news, so I recommend the public should integrate some methods to read efficiently.