As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Nowadays, the populations in many nations tend to live as small families or without siblings, especially in developed countries. There are a number of reasons that caused this trend due to the general social development, and the effects of this phenomenon are mostly negative. Begin with the reasons that affected the society, the growing work-related stress and financial problem make people feel overwhelmed. Firstly, the massive workload on employees takes much time for them for spending with their siblings and parents, especially in a big city. Moreover, domestic goods and consumption are getting more unaffordable due to the economic growth, whereas a number of residents in big cities are prone to live individually or without raising a child. For example, the fertility rate in some Asia countries such as China and Japan had shown a downward trend for a long period because of the fast-developing society, along with many young people choose to live as singles or couples without offspring. As the effects on these countries, there are many impacts on people's relationships and social communities. On the one hand, individuals tend to be separated and lack social interaction with sisters and brothers, therefore affect their intimate relationships and collaboration skills. On the other hand, residents in cities are going to live and work independently instead of living in communities and organizations. For instance, in a large city like Shanghai, people would more like to avoid living or working as a group and pursuit individualistic life. As a result, individuals would lack communications and relationships, therefore affect the marriage rate, divorce rate and fertility rate. To summarize, stress levels of individuals and financial issues are the main causes, along with bringing negative effects on society.