Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, new technologies let us perform many useful functions. It is well known that we are being followed through security cameras and cellphone tracking. In this essay, I will explore whether the advantages of this advancement outweigh the disadvantages. There are several benefits of creating smart technologies. Firstly, the police can very quickly find out a criminal and prove their guilt using cellphone tracking as well as recordings made using cameras. As a result, people are more likely to feel safe now than in the past. Secondly, cellphone tracking can help the Government fulfill different social as well as medical goals. For example, currently, during the pandemic of COVID-19, the Government is able to limit transmission of the virus using the special application of social monitoring. They send push notifications to people who are congested by this virus and must be staying at their places for 14 days and using returned messages the authorities can be convinced that COVID patients have not left their homes. However, using these advanced technologies has also different negative consequences. First of all, information confidentiality could be under threat. In other words, if scammers get access to the big data, that gathered by using cellphone tracking and security cameras, it could considerably damage people. Moreover, it is often people are unaware that they under observation, that causes their privacy life breach. It is worth mentioning that even families could be destroyed when a wife starts spying on her husband or vice versa. In conclusion, while new technologies can be used in an inappropriate way and violate privacy, there are still many benefits from using cameras and cellphone GPS trackers. If managed in the right way, nevertheless, I feel that overall the advantages could outweigh the disadvantages.