In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is believed that children nowadays have more freedom compared to the past. However, there is an argument whether it is a positive or negative development. I consider it is a positive development and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraph. To begin with, children had less freedom compared to the present. Take Korea as an example, in the past, the majority of Korean children were forced to stop studying and work in factories by their parents. This is because their parents could not afford to pay their secondary school tuition fees, so many children had to sacrifice their opportunities to support their families financially. Whereas, nowadays, children can enter secondary education for free so that they can expand their range of knowledge and competitiveness in their field. Therefore, they can have better future career prospects and be more independent in self-decision making process. Moreover, in modern society, there are thousands of occupations that could make money a lot. This gives a variety of choices to children what they want to become. For instance, children were forced to become white-collar workers such as doctors, lawyers by their parents because these jobs were one of the main occupations which could have a high income in the society, however, these days even Youtubers could make millions of dollars as long as they are popular. In this respect, children in the past had weakness in self-decision making process since they got ordered what to do and which occupations they should possess, however, at present, children have numerous choices and they can choose one of them on their own. In conclusion, it is true that more freedom has been given to children and it influences children positively in decision making and future career prospects.