In some societies the number of crime committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The alarming increase of adolescent crime is being vigorously discussed in many countries. While governments try to address this issue, a segment of society is convinced that teenagers should have the same punishment as adults. I completely agree with this point. Because young people should know that law is serious and punishment should teach it to them. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, in many countries teenagers have less severe punishments compared to adults. This gives freedom to young people to do what they want, without taking any responsibility for their actions. For example in Europe teenagers are not punished even for serious criminal offences. Thus, if countries introduce punishments for youngsters, they will think twice before breaking the law. Secondly, some teenagers with extremely violent behaviour known for re-offences should be excluded from the community and provided special psychological treatment. This will help to avoid grievous consequences in the future. Adding further, harsher punishments will deter other adolescents from offences. In other words, potential juvenile criminals will be afraid to commit a crime as they will be aware and afraid of severe punishments. In the long run, this can benefit the community and adolescents. Lastly, regardless of age crime is a crime, if teens have lenient laws towards them, they will not know about the harm they are inflicting to society. For instance, if a teen stabbed someone and got away easily with it, he or she will not know how serious their action was. To conclude, teenagers are aware of their actions and know the rules of society. Therefore, I believe that any person harmful to society should be punished equally.