Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

According to several individuals, doing experiments on animals is unethical, and such activities need to be banned. Others, on the contrary, argue that sacrificing animals to be experimental objects is necessary for scientists to discover new theories. From my perspective, such experimentation is fine because in order to get breakthrough scientific discoveries, a sacrifice is required as long as the implementation follows several ethical guidelines. The ethical guidelines here refer to a set of rules that must be obeyed by the scientist in conducting their experimentation on a living being. One of the rules I proposed regarding this guideline is the experiment should be done towards relatively insignificant and invasive animals, such as mice and rats. In addition, scientists also need to control and regulate the population of the experiment subjects so that they will not be extinct eventually. As of now, I do not think there are any alternatives to replace living beings, animals in particular, as the subject of experiments. This is because many researchers believe that animals have a close relationship with humans in terms of genetics, one of them being pigs. To get the best and most accurate result, the subject needs to be as similar as possible. Also, this experimentation on animals enables the person doing the experiment to carry out the trial-and-error strategy. In sum, making animals the subject of experiments is still allowed as long as the experiments do not harm our ecological environments and put a certain animal population into extinction. Strict guidelines need to be established by the government to make sure all the scientists act accordingly.