Some people say that with the new technology there is no need to develop handwriting skills anymore. Others believe that it is still necessary to teach handwriting. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the advancement of technology, we have do not have to do any work manually nowadays. Everything is automatic with a click of a button or through our speech. Some people believe that learning and developing handwriting skills is not required nowadays, on the contrary others believe that it is mandatory to be taught. I support the former idea as more the time we will spend in learning this skill can be spent on learning some important skill. To begin with, there is a group of people who strongly feel that learning handwriting is a waste of time as science has given us a boom of the latest mechanization. Today, after the advent of computers and laptops, we hardly get a chance to write. Moreover, we have a new technique of speech recognition in the market. All gadgets are prebuilt with this feature now, for instance, Siri in apple mobiles. In the present day, all the jobs such as those of accountant and much more which required manual work of maintaining records in the file are done in computers. Hence handwritten things are rarely left. On the contrary, some people consider even though such high-tech gadgets are there still there is a need to develop the art of handwriting. Like other art forms, this should also be given due importance. So to inculcate this habit various strategies can be thought of, for example, calligraphy competitions should be held and awards should be given so that more people are attracted towards it. To sum up, I partially accept that people should be taught handwriting provided there is a need for it. Despite people can focus various other skills rather than this which will be useful to them in long run. Although a minimum focus should be given on this during school time.