Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that the extinction of certain plant and animal species is the biggest environmental issue that we confront today, while others claim that there are other environmental problems that are more important. I agree with the former viewpoint because some plant and animal species play a key role in keeping the ecosystem in balance. On the one hand, climate change has already started affecting our lives. With rising global temperatures, natural disasters, such as wildfires and storms, are becoming more frequent and dangerous. They tear down our homes and infrastructure and even take many lives. However, I think global warming is not the most serious environmental challenge we face today since its causal relationship with natural disasters is not fully backed up by science. On the other hand, the loss of particular animal and plant species will result in an imbalanced ecosystem. For example, if the primary predator, the lion, ceased to exist, the species it used to prey on, such as deer and giraffes, would reproduce in large numbers. This could really alter the balance of Earth’s ecosystems because they could destroy forests and also carry diseases. Since we depend on a well-balanced ecosystem to provide us with crucial resources such as clean air, freshwater, and medicine, I think protecting certain species of plants and animals from becoming extinct should take the highest priority. In conclusion, even though climate change might have started impacting our lives already, I think protecting certain plant and animal species is more urgent because their extinction will upset the balance of the ecosystem.