Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over whether allocating the Government’s budget to celebrate national festivals in many nations nowadays. Meanwhile, some people claim they should put this money on the tasks which are far more essential since it is a waste of public expenditure on those celebrations. From my very point of view, each has its own perks so both notions deserve recognition. It is undeniable to note that festivals might tremendously enrich the culture of a country as well as boost the economy for an eclectic mix of reasonable underlying roots. Every national festival holds a distinct sense of meaning which represents a wealth of glorious milestones of one nation. By celebrating them, not only will it preserve core cultural values that every civilization owns, but also add colours to the monotonous daily life and make the city more vibrant and fascinating. For example, Lunar New Year is an irreplaceable part of Vietnamese people when citizens gather together in order to honour their ancestors and foster a sense of pride for the younger generation. Since this event is only held in some countries of Asia, it attracts many visitors from all over the world to enjoy such novel experiences and the charm of this unique festival. Therefore, allocating the rulers’ budget on public celebrations could do wonders for a nation in terms of cultural preservation and tourism economy. While the redeeming features of the aforementioned notion are widely acknowledged, it is also essential to spend expenditure on other significant aspects. In the current stage of time, there are many dire issues that need to be invested such as technology, education and healthcare. It is irrefutable that those aspects play a paramount significant role in people's daily life. Covid-19 can be cited as an essential example since it has become the most unease problem nowadays for not only causing a high death rate all over the world but also bringing down the economic sectors of many countries. Hence, the rulers bear the responsibility to invest a part of the source for advanced scientific technologies to find an effective vaccine, preparing medical equipment for patients or using media to warn people about epidemic prevention. In conclusion, I am well convinced that the rulers’ coffers should be balanced for both national events as well as other crucial tasks.