It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

In recent days, psychologists and parents attempt to show ways to teach children the difference between the accepted and unaccepted manner. Although some believe that punishment is the perfect means towards achieving this goal in early childhood, others deter applying any type of discipline at young stages. In this essay, I will discuss both views and declare why I partially agree with both sides. Conventional parents and psychologists support physical punishment as a paramount procedure in educating the offspring on the distinction between wrong and right actions at an early age. This appears as they claim that hitting offspring when they do a mistake have a rapid and permanent effect on their conduct. According to Freud’s theories, for instance, connecting pain with certain attitudes leads to remarkable resentment towards these actions in early childhood. While a child can be given gifts when doing something good, his or her bad attitude or manner should be met with rapid painful reactions to change their attitude towards that unaccepted manner. Therefore, this kind of traditional thinking could have a rapid change in attitudes towards the accepted code of behaviour though I believe that the psychological trauma created by this type of torture is hard to eliminate. On the contrary, opponents of this traditional educational thinking believe that there are more effective educational means than punishment that help children to learn what is right and what is wrong. These modern mentors and psychologists support replacing hitting with motivation because it has a more important influence on offspring’s manners than beating. Most Canadian parents, for instance, are proved to be the best in the world in raising well-behaved toddlers due to their dependence on awarding good conduct rather than punishing the wrong behaviour. Another important reason why these educators are against physical torture is because of the drastic psychological consequences on youngsters. These impacts appear in their older ages through traumatic effects such as alienation and inner insecurity. Thus, awarding the good behaviours and motivating toddlers to avoid doing the wrong ones have less psychological effects on youngsters’ inner security and raises their confidence when they choose to be disciplined in a world of contradictions. In conclusion, I believe that depending more on positive educational attitudes is more effective than physical beating in learning the difference between right and wrong. However, emotional discipline can be necessary due to the hazardous consequences on the individual and society. Consequently, if punishment has to be applied, it should not be physical because of its drastic psychological effects but could be emotional through taking away toys or giving a time out.