In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Across the globe, there is an exponential growth of people consuming too much junk food which causes them to experience some health issues. Nevertheless, some individuals opine that it is a necessity to increase the tax on food in the fast-food category. The following paragraphs will be giving answers to why and why not that governments should raise the tax fee. In a modern world, people are living in a fast-paced lifestyle meaning that everything is in a rush, especially fast foods are cheap and can be found everywhere. It is either too convenient or too casual for people living in a city to buy them during their works. Because of this matter, raising the expense for fast-food companies is a good way to reduce the endless stores. For instance, in the US, there are countless fast-food chains that are available in every corner resulting in most populations are having chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, and obesity throughout the country. Increasing tax might decline the fried chicken stores that will make office workers see more options other than chicken sandwiches for their meals. On the other hand, making the cost more expensive might not solve the root of the evil. I believe that the influence of eating bad meals is from advertisement campaigns and normalized eating unhealthy food. Some countries such as America and Korea are really good at advertising their companies to make the public believes that we need to taste them in order to catch up with the trend. However, encouraging the nation to know what is behind those beautiful and mouth-watering billboards by including the knowledge in the school curriculum, educational videos on the internet, or medical tv shows. Consequently, this will catch the public’s attention, therefore the crowd may start to ignore those junk foods. In summary, raising the expenditure of fast-food companies is one of the great ways to deal with overeating unhealthy foods, yet it is not the best solution for this particular problem because we rather ought to encourage the citizens to concern more about their health and unnormalize grabbing the burgers on their way home.