Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the economic growth allows many countries to open their borders and trade their good with other nations. Therefore, importing food plays a critical role in developing the economy in the vast of countries worldwide. I personally believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. There are some disadvantages of purchasing food from different parts of the world. The leading group which is affected by this trend is farmers. They lost their jobs because they had to face massive competition about the price of global goods. The price of imported food is lower than domestic food as farmers take much money on manufacturing devices. In addition, this trend also impacts consumers. They cannot access fresh food and use the canned food. This food may harm their health in the long term because some ingredients in each packaged food that protect food in delivering process. Despite the negatives mentioned above, imported food brings a wide range of benefits. Farmers can take advantage of the competition to upgrade their products or their manufacturing system. For instance, Israel is an excellent nation for agriculture because it has many innovations to develop its food sources. Moreover, consumers also have many choices from the various ingredients that make rich the quality of meals. Some recipes contain many flavors from Asian countries, such as curry flower and small spicy peppers, which is hard to find in American or European countries. In conclusion, many countries import food from other regions that bring both advantages and disadvantages for farmers and consumers.