In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

As we know, the education system in different countries differs. While in some countries young people have a flexible syllabus in others children have tremendous workload and are put under incredible pressure. A good illustration of this is Chinese schools, which are known to have a difficult curriculum across the world. Chinese school system lean very strongly towards the memorization of facts, from an early age kids learn pretty advanced math and other exact sciences, they have long school days and extra tuitions after school. The main reason for such hard education is a huge population, so education becomes very competitive. Besides, they have a hard exam at the end of school, which dictates their success in life. From childhood, kids are taught how important to pass this exam to get into a better school, to get a better job in the long run. Hardly do young people, who are put under such pressure, have playtime. What is more disturbing if kids have a lack of free time and incredible workload it might lead to health issues such as depression and anxiety. As a solution, firstly government should reform the education system to move a focus from memorizing information to developing critical thinking and creativity. The syllabus should be flexible to provide kids with an opportunity to choose subjects that they are keen on. As an option exam can be reorganized to estimate not only hard skills but also soft skills and motivation. Secondly, the role of parents is equally important, they have to balance between pushing children and knowing when to let go, they should monitor their children's stress level and not overload with extra tuition. In conclusion, no matter in which country you are it is very important to have enough leisure time. Because if a child has a lack of free time and an incredible workload it might lead to health issues such as depression and anxiety.