Shoppers have too much choice, from chocolate bars to jeans.' What, in your opinion, are the advantages and disadvantages of having many things to choose from?

In recent times, with the help of the industrial revolution, and capital markets, shoppers are presented with a myriad of choices at their local supermarkets, be it a variety in flavour of chocolate or a slight variation in jean colour, all is accessible. In this essay, I will explore both the advantages and disadvantages of having an abundance of choices and how they affect people's lives. To start off with, having a variety of choices means there is competition between different brands which leads to better quality products presented to the customers. For instance, if only one brand were producing and selling shoes to the majority of buyers it would make it easier for the brand to sell low-quality products to their unbeknownst customers. However, if there were a number of different brands selling shoes, each of those brands would need to do better than the other to compete for customer satisfaction. On the other hand, being bombarded with a gauntlet of choices while shopping may lead to dissatisfaction and decision fatigue. Let's take for example a coffee machine. In my experience, when buying a coffee machine you are presented with a plethora of brands each having a slight difference in quality. This led to me spending days doing research to buy the right one for myself just to find out at the end that the other brand might have been better leaving me unhappy with my buy. In conclusion, while having the freedom of choice can be good for better quality products it can sometimes lead the customers to confusion in buying the right thing for themselves. In my opinion, we should enjoy the luxury of having all kinds of different products at our disposal.