It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The nature versus nurture argument is a never-ending story, but especially when it comes to success. While some people believe stars are born with innate characteristics that make them special, others argue that any child can reach outstanding levels as long as it receives proper training. In my opinion, although some predisposition or skill is highly desirable, the learning process is the real key to success. The existence of some unique individuals with natural talents is completely undeniable. Examples like Mozart, Lionel Messi or Stephen Hawking justify the idea that only those touched with the magic wand of natural talent will make it to the top level. In addition, as parents are anxious to know how far their children will get in life, there are IQ tests even for toddlers to spot any talent and project how their development will be. Generally speaking, those predictions tend to be pretty accurate. As a consequence, people grow up with some sort of knowledge of their capabilities and limitations, leaving no room to dream with greatness. On the other hand, other people support the idea that with proper training and education, anything can be achievable. Although they tend to be less marketing-friendly stories, cases of successful musicians, scientists or sports players with no visible talent during childhood are the biggest percentage worldwide. Moreover, bringing back the cases of Mozart or Messi, without intensive practice, dedication and commitment, their names would have become completely anonymous. This proves the idea that, even though having some predisposition to numbers, music or sport is an advantage, nothing apart from training can lead to an outstanding career regardless of the field. In conclusion, deciding whether natural talent outweighs education is still a matter of heated discussion. However, I believe that with proper guidance anyone can be successful and become a star.