You should spend about 20 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The health care system has enhanced over a couple of decades. With the new advancements, life expectancy also increases. A new challenge for society is to take care of elders. This essay will discuss the challenges, society will face dealing with the rise in numbers of senior citizens. Firstly, the evolution of health facilities in the 21st century has enhanced the medical system. The main factor contributing to the success of health care is the advanced technologies and extensive research in the field of pharmacy. It not only increased the average life span of people but also found the treatment of incurable diseases. As the average life age is increased, there emerges the need for facilities and amenities for the elders. For instance, there is a lack of facilities for people above the age of 60. Crucial amenities such as wheelchair access, old age homes, laws for their ease, care homes namely. In my knowledge, there are various building norms that suggest ease of movement by providing ramps and elevators, Also during the town planning, various amenities are planned in the master plan for elders. However, it is rarely executed. Secondly, The change in the scenario due to the advanced health facilities, the major focus shifted towards the development for elders. People in old age are as sensitive as a child. Moreover, they also require special care. A few alterations in the laws can resolve this issue. For example, Creating safe roads and safe environments, fast emergency service access, public spaces can be designed for old age people where they can socialize with people of the same age, regular health checkups and laws for their ease should be made. To summarise, It is the duty of society to provide various beneficial resources to the senior citizens as they are also an important part of the society.