In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

In recent times there have been more and more broadcasts exclusively dedicated to sports in almost every country. Some people, however, have found this choice extremely deterring for youngsters, since it stops them from participating in athletics in real life. In my essay, I’m going to discuss this view and state what I think about it. The primary reason why most adults firmly believe that continuous coverage of sports on TV is bad for the youth is that it helps them desist from pursuing a sport. A number of teens may prefer the comfort of their own house to go out multiple times a week and exercise, so watching television is much better for them, but it doesn’t help them being healthy at all. Moreover, young people are inspired by great players consequently when there are big events, they don’t play anymore, and they just watch the matches, even though they should continue practising. In my opinion, this way of thinking is mostly incorrect. Sure, watching hours of sports coverage on TV is not healthy, but I don’t think it stops young people from taking part in athletics themselves. Instead, matches and events like World Cups may be a great idea to introduce children and teens to new activities. For example, I didn’t take part in any pastime until I was 14 and I surprisingly found out about horse riding watching the Olympics. Furthermore, even now that I have been doing show jumping for 7 years, I find it useful to watch equestrians on television due to the fact that it helps me understand how to be better in my sport and it motivates me. In conclusion, there are numerous adults that find television broadcasts that focus on sports unhelpful for kids, nevertheless I believe the contrary.