Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The notion that people should be willing to cope with unsatisfying situations is common among some. However, there are those who oppose this view and believe in attempting to improve circumstances. I concur with the latter, as I believe it provides more possibilities in life. Those in favor of coping with unpleasant situations think that happiness lies in acceptance and momentary enjoyments. In other words, they believe since we cannot change everything in life, we should simply sit back, relax and focus on what makes us happy. For instance, spending quality time with loved ones is considered more important in this view than working overtime, or when we are financially exhausted, lowering our standards is a suggested way of making ends meet. These people will perhaps spend the entire year working in underpaid jobs they don’t like just for two weeks of summer holiday to spend it on recreational activities. In their view the dissatisfactory hours spent at work, or difficulties faced by low incomes are just collateral damages for the sake of happy hours spent engaging in pleasant activities. On the contrary, it is believed by many, including myself, that we ought to attempt to enhance our standard of living, because even if we fail in the process we can still learn new things. This may not be the easier option as it involves more work and stress, and definitely less time spent with friends and family, but ultimately it is the more rewarding decision. In this view, happiness is in the path that one partakes in, and not the destination. For example, someone might try to work harder to excel in their position in a company with a promotion, but their manager never responds with suitable rewards or even compliments. Although this person might become furious and disappointed in his or her work, but sooner or later they will find out that the experience they gained will assist them in their future endeavors. In conclusion, there are disarraying opinions on whether we should accept or try to alter the dissatisfactory conditions we face in life. In my opinion, challenging our position for improvements is a wise decision, for it grants us with more benefits, even in failure.