Some people believe that secondary school children should study international news as a subject. Others say that this is wasting time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a constant debate about what children should be taught at school.Some people believe that secondary school is the right age for children to gain extra knowledge by introducing overseas news as a new subject, however some oppose this statement and consider it as a waste of time.In my,opinion students should be aware of the happenings around the globe but must not feel pressurised to know it all. I shall scrutinise both viewpoints before coming to any conclusion. To begin with, many parents believe that at a certain age their offspring should acquire knowledge about the happenings across the globe which will enhance their skill set and keeps them updated with any new information that comes the way that will prepare them in case they have to face them in coming future. For example, due to the rapid spread of COVID-19 in 2020, it was informed that the virus is less effective if hand sanitisers are used at frequent intervals, such information created awareness around the world and people started using sanitisers to keep them safe and without any,doubt progress was seen and this came out as a piece of helpful information for people. Secondly,if a student wishes to pursue their career in another country after high school having knowledge about the current affairs and other regulations of the country creates a clear picture before out-Immigration. On the other hand, there are some parents who think that it is not necessary for their kids to know about another country as they already have enough on their plate to study in secondary school. This will only add pressure which may affect scores for academic subjects and decrease the overall performance of a student. In conclusion, it is important to have information about overseas activities but one must not feel to be under pressure to have to know about everything.In my opinion, announcing a few news articles would be sufficient for a student to know global activities.