Some people think that it is important to have a single language as an international official language. Others think that it will make it difficult to identify countries and cause a loss of culture. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Support your answer with examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is often argued that, it is imperative to use a common global language for worldwide communication while there are people with the opinion that having a single language can be detrimental because this could result in nations losing their identity and traditions. I strongly believe that it is of vital importance to have a common tongue to build closer relationships and for economic benefits; however, preserving dialects should be acknowledged in order to counteract them being extinct. On the one hand, establishing one tongue has multifarious benefits ranging from developing relations and collaboration between countries to booming effect on the economy. Firstly, having a global language would help easy communication and hence, enhance the trading industries' transactions and other business deals throughout the world. Furthermore, this could reduce the unnecessary time of translating into different dialects for different countries, and therefore, a significant amount of budget can be saved. For example, overhead costs for translators and other web-developed applications could be utilized for another essential service, thus, more revenues would be earned. On the other hand, opponents for establishing an international tongue have claimed that this could have repercussions because this would lead to burry the identity of a country as well as its culture. The central reason behind this is that a dialect plays a major role in recognizing a unique nation, for instance, the people in England are recognized as 'English People'. Moreover, there are ample traditions that are associated with a dialect such as chanting, melodies that are sung during several occasions and other rituals; nevertheless, these could die out as a result of a common platform. For example, a recent study shows that lots of dialects have gone extinct and therefore, the cultural events that are associated with them also have died. To conclude, having an international official language is paramount in order to improve the relationships among countries and to have a booming effect on the economy; however, preserving unique tongues should be acknowledged otherwise a country can lose its identification as well as customs and conventions.