Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, many families tend to teach their children a foreign language. Some specialists think that learning a different language in primary school is better than in secondary school. However, there are some upsides and downsides to this. In my opinion, the merits of teaching a foreign language in primary school outweigh its demerits. Learning a foreign language can yield several disadvantages. Firstly, the acquisition process increases stress on children at that age. Secondly, some of them cannot balance their foreign language with others, which impacts their mother tongue. For example, some young children may be confused by two-letter words in a second language. Lastly, learning a new language could lead to a lack of focus on core subjects such as math and science, which leads to a drop in their level. In contrast, the positive aspects of teaching additional languages cannot be overlooked. Children at an early age can understand a new language easily because at this age their minds are fixability and have the ability to learn different languages also able to improve critical thinking. Additionally, learning a second language could increase the opportunity to pursue further study as well as broaden one’s horizon, creating a wholesome worldview. Moreover, global companies have competitive jobs that need employees fluent in English, making them better candidates to get these jobs. In conclusion, while picking up a new foreign language at the elementary level does present certain downsides, I believe that its benefits outweigh these drawbacks, which are related to their academic performance and professional futures.