In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The old family members in Britain are often moved to old age homes with other old people to be taken care of by the nurses. Although the government pays for these old people care centres, I believe the family should be paying for this care to reduce the burden on the taxpayers and show moral responsibility for their old parents. Firstly, the government collects revenues in the form of taxes from British citizens to invest in different social and industrial projects. That means the government funds for maintaining old age homes can put an additional burden on the taxpayers as there is no return on investment from these homes. This is simply a social charity and showing gratitude towards older people by helping them survive when they are retired. For example, with the increasing number of old age care centres in Britain, it is estimated that the government would need to increase the existing funding by 80%, which is only possible by increasing the taxes. Secondly, the younger people were taken care of by their parents, and therefore, they also should adhere to duties in return. This could be in the form of taking care of their medical and living expenses in old age homes. This gesture will not only help pay salaries to people like nurses and janitors but would also help to reduce the burden of new taxes on British society. For example, the privately funded old age homes run smoothly without bothering the society to pay for its sustenance as the funds are provided by the respective family members. In conclusion, I believe families should be paying to these old age centres to take care of their old family members instead of the government. This is to inhibit the government from increasing the taxes on the people, and as a moral responsibility of the family towards their older people.