Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

While in the past people were willing to work for others these days individuals tend to work for their own business. In this way, they would not only have more freedom but also earn more money, although, it may have some negative points. There are various reasons to be self-employed. Firstly, people could be their own boss and it is not necessary to obey others orders as a consequence, they have far more liberty. For instance, the person is not forced to go to work early morning and come back at a specific time. Therefore, they have flexible work time and can do their work whenever they want. Secondly, when somebody is self-employed all the money that he earns for himself. In the other words, they have more motivation to expand their jobs to gain more profits so that they reach a better career prospect. On the other hand, being self-employed have some drawbacks. It could be riskier because these persons may face bankruptcy and lose their own investment and since they do not have a fixed salary, they may get into trouble to provide living expenses. Moreover, having a business brings more responsibilities. One is more likely to go to work on holidays or at weekends due to heavy workloads. Hence it would be a demanding job with less spare time. In conclusion, today's people because of liberty in the work environment and make more money prefer to establish their own business even though, self-employed has some problems and difficulties such as losing their money and shoulder more responsibilities