Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Amidst Covid-19 spread in the world, people were asked to work from home and students had to take their classes online. According to recent discussions, people are considering continuing this trend ahead. But the question arises, Is it beneficial to study from home? Can we replace classroom studies with the ones given online? In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss the impacts of taking courses online from home. To begin with, According to Hindu mythology in India, during the early days of education, students were asked to leave their homes and live the entire period of education with their teachers. While not being in their comfort zone, they lead a disciplined life and were transformed into scholars. On the contrary, things have transformed now. Nowadays it is observed that students wake up and join their classes online without even getting up from their beds due to which a proper concentration is not formed. However, students going to universities not only obtain knowledge on their courses but also develop interpersonal skills which are hard to learn online. Students get to be with other students from diverse cultures and learn a very valuable skill of friendship, these traits can be built provided all are under one roof. Additionally, professors are able to deliver their lessons smoothly without any interruptions which might occur during online classes. To conclude, studying on the internet rather than going to universities can be seen as an overall negative development for students. Some of the merits such as saving time during travelling or saving the cost of infrastructure in universities cannot outweigh the demerits.