At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries today, young adults make up a larger proportion of the population as compared to senior citizens. A country's age distribution being in the favour of younger people could impose certain issues; however, it does bring about more benefits. Firstly, a young population has the advantage of a more active and efficient workforce. Young adults enjoy healthier bodies, as well as the desire to build a better future for themselves. For instance, a study in the UK suggests that employees below the age of 30 are more likely to work longer hours or on holidays. Therefore, younger people can increase the production output of the economy. Secondly, older people can increase the cost of healthcare systems for governments. It is obviously clear that facing illness is unavoidable with ageing, and running hospitals can take up a good part of annual budgets. As an example, the Japanese government allocates billions of dollars for healthcare equipment and professionals, while other areas may need more funding. Hence, a country with fewer older citizens could invest more in infrastructure and education. Nevertheless, a disproportion in favour of younger people in the population might silence the older generations politically. In many countries, laws are passed via democratic elections where citizens have the right to vote. If older people find themselves being a minority, they may lose their voice in society. In conclusion, a population with more young adults than older people has more advantages than drawbacks on the grounds that younger people are healthier and capable of working harder and require less healthcare cost.